Sometimes dealing with different departments at the hospital is enough to drive a person up the wall.....
Yesterday I went into the Fetal Assesment unit to get my blood pressure moniter....because my OB was concerned with my blood pressure, which apparently was 140 over 100. I am not a nurse, and I have no idea of what is good or bad....BUT....I do what I am told. Like a good girl I took home my moniter....(which by the way I had to pay $100 for...although I will get most of that back-we don't have the money right now) and I came home with it, and have been taking my blood pressure as I was told. I had to take it once...if it was high take it again 15 minutes later. If either number was highter then 14o over 90 I was to call my doctor, the fetal assesment unit...or if they were not in...labor and delivery. Well....I took it at 6pm, and it was high so I took it at 10 and it was high again. I did what I was told, and called the labor and delivery unit....AND
got this nurse...who obviously didn't feel like being there.
This is what I got....
"Why are you calling us?"
What do you want us to do?
We aren't inducing you......
(Which by the way...isn't what I called for...so AGAIN I very patiently explained why I was calling.....---because I was TOLD to.....
"Well your doctor isn't here......" (NO KIDDING...it isn't his night....)
We only pay attention to the bottom number
(me for the fourth time....I was told to call in if either number went up.......i don't care what you guys look at .... I am doing WHAT I WAS TOLD'
'Oh....and here was the kicker.....
"you will just have to stay that way until the baby comes......" THEN WHY PUT ME ON A MONITER....
anyways...the conversation went absolutly no where, and in the end...I hung up and cried out of frusteration for half an hour, cause I am pregnant, and I was angry, and I rented a machine for 100 dollars I hadn't wanted to rent in the first place when I am almost due, and why did I bother.....and I felt like I had no control.
This morning when I got up my blood pressure was 151 over 90, and so I called to the fetal assesment unit....
They were quite angry with labor and delivery.....and I am supposed to go in this morning, and have a fetal stress test...
They wanted the nurses name....
Apparently the same manager runs both the fetal assesment unit, and labor and delivery....
AS for me....I almost wish I hadn't bothered with the blood pressure thing...it is becoming a pain in the butt, when I am almost due anyways.....
i am sure everything is fine...but being treated with respect would have been nice.....
Anyway...that is the end of my rant...I feel better now...my hubby is coming home....so here is to a better day..... :)
Friday, October 17, 2008
Tuesday, October 14, 2008
Almost there...
Just a quick update...I went to the doctors today and everything is looking pretty good. This is only the second time I have ever made a due date, so I am pretty excited about that and meeting my baby girl soon.....
I am now 1 cm dilated...so anytime...
However my blood pressure is up some, so on Thursday i have to go to the fetal assesment unit, so they can moniter baby and my blood pressure...I am pretty sure it is only because of the evil cold I picked up this week.....
Here is to hoping I am better before delivery.....so....
still hanging in there.....
I am now 1 cm dilated...so anytime...
However my blood pressure is up some, so on Thursday i have to go to the fetal assesment unit, so they can moniter baby and my blood pressure...I am pretty sure it is only because of the evil cold I picked up this week.....
Here is to hoping I am better before delivery.....so....
still hanging in there.....
Monday, October 13, 2008
BUGS!
These lady bugs were found in the folds of one of our lawn chairs...I didn't know they congregated in such numbers!

Friday, October 10, 2008
Happy Second birthday Talon Balon....
Talon actually turned two on the sixth....but I am only posting it today....LOL!
and I decided to throw in one last prego picture of my oldest daughter as well......She makes a beautiful pregnant woman....

and I decided to throw in one last prego picture of my oldest daughter as well......She makes a beautiful pregnant woman....
Wednesday, October 8, 2008
Tuesday, October 7, 2008
Monday, October 6, 2008
Friday, October 3, 2008
Thursday, October 2, 2008
Wednesday, October 1, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
