Saturday, May 19, 2007

I have been thinking alot about old times lately....

I guess that happens when you lose someone you love....

As many of you already know, our best friend Jeremy Nelson recently passed away after a long struggle with leukemia on May 4th/2006 at 4PM.....

He died the way he lived....walking in faith.....

He was at home surrounded by family and a few close friends, and was still making people laugh and praising God right up to the time when he became unconcious...

What a testimony...

I can only hope that when my time comes someday, I can face it with the same remarkable bravery and strength of character....

Things have been a little difficult on the friend front the last couple of years...

Shortly after we moved here, our friend Mike Lawry passed away. A couple of years previous after I had sang somewhere, he had said to me that when he died he wanted me to come and sing at his funeral.....I got mad at him for being morbid, but then two years later.....we were off to Williams Lake for his funeral.

Last year our friend Josh Wolbers died of a heart attack at age 30......We couldn't go to the funeral and that was hard.

Mike Young, a local pastor we cared about also died of leukemia....

and since we moved to Regina, there has also been people here....

It has made me think alot.

I now try to spend as much time as possible with my family and friends...and to heck with things like housework...(and you should see my house somedays....

I have never been good at letting people know how i feel, but i am working on that....

The truth is that none of us know how long we have here...and we could be gone tomorrow...

The Bible says our lives are but a shadow....

and I don't want the people I care about to not know how I feel....or leave things unsaid.

I am also profoundly thankful that I will see the people who have gone on ahead of me again someday....

Jeremy my friend, We love you and miss you.....

Kendal, Robyn and girls....

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

One day recently, Kendal and I went to hang out at the Farmers Market. We like to go there in the summer, and watch all the people hang out, and the buskers play their instruments. This was the first out door farmers market this year though, and so there wasn't much going on. We did buy some spices, which I haven't tried yet, but there was no fresh produce yet, as it is far to early in the year.
When we were done cruising around, we went for breakfast at Copper Kettle. I like to go in
there, because you can still see the people on the street, and it is a nice enviroment.




I had the spinach omlette, which was pretty good, and Kendal had bacon and eggs....




We did find this kind of funny though...It is supposed to be a classy restaurant, so we were kind of thinking...they might want to take off the Dollarama sticker off of the glasses before they use them....
After we were done our breakfast, we walked down to the mall and hung out there for a while. They were having performances by some of the cultural groups who will be at Mosaic....Jeremy really got into it...he was yelling at one set of dancers....

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

Windy City


The wind has been insane around Saskatchewan this year! In fact, this is what happened to our back yard fence during the last windstorm....I guess we are going to have to let the landlords know, as Taco and Gizmo would probably love the opportunity to explore their backyard...
The whole fence is actually down and leaning against the back of the shed....
We have apparently already had tornado watches this year too....I hope the wind cuts soon though...It is hard to go for a walk in the park with Jeremy in 80MPH winds.

My friend Naomi with Jeremy!


My friend Kim...(Clue Game...)


Saturday, May 12, 2007

To the Driver with liscence # 771 EZL (silver car.)

I would sincerely like to thank you for trying to kill my husband, my newborn and myself tonight while we were driving home on the ring road from the North End of Regina to the East End. It is ok...I really don't like my life anyways....
OH....I'm sorry...this sounds really SARCASTIC.
Here is what happened...you make up your mind if you think this is out of line....

It is 9PM, and Kendal and I were driving home after having coffee with my grandson, and his parents at Second Cup. There was no traffic on the road, and we were driving 90 in the right hand lane. All of a sudden out of NO WHERE this car who had been passing us on the left cut directly in front of us, with less then 5-10 feet to spare. NO kidding. Fortunatly I slowed down fast enough to avoid hitting him...(or the ditch) which would have been pleasant going 90.....
Now I am upset, so we follow the guy...who by the way stayed just above what I was driving right ahead of me....and he heads to the East End and stops at the light...

At this point Kendal gets out...(oh-oh) and walks up to the driver...and says.."Why did you cut us off? You almost killed us, and our new born is in the car....." Get this....The guy says...."You should have been going faster. The speed limit is 100 on the Ring Rd"....This is the point where Kendal loses his temper....and says"you tried to kill us because you thought we weren't going fast enough for you?"

WOW. Ok....anger management people.....I really don't get how someone would want to kill another driver on the road...over 10 km......

I am feeling VERY fortunate tonight that we didn't have an accident, and that God looked out for us....but I am also very angry that people have become so inconsiderate of other people...that if things don't go EXACTLY their way that they need to respond in such anger....

Has anyone of you reading out there found that in the last couple of years there is more road rage then there used to be? Let me know...

And to the driver of the car with the above lisence #...I know that you will probably never read this...but if you do....SHAME ON YOU.

Friday, May 11, 2007

More Clue Pictures.

Here are some more pictures that Wayne took at our Clue game. This is our friend Paul, and his kids Cheris, and the incredible Hulk.... (Paul is the youth leader and associate Pastor at Avonhurst)


Thursday, May 10, 2007

Creepy....

These pictures were taken by a guy from our church named Wayne during our big Clue game...He is obviously a great photographer.....he definately captured the essence of that which is Damien....(LOL!) ((You would have to know the guy...)) The pics are hilarious!













Lunch at Dennis and Susan's

We went over to Susan and Dennis's house for a barbeque a couple Sundays ago...and Jeremy was fussing....Not for long though. He just loves Dean. I think it is something about his low voice or something, but he settled right down and passed out. A little while later Dean was holding Talon, who was being a REAL handful, and Talon sat more still for longer then I have ever seen him....20 minutes! He was absolutely fascinated with the stripes on Dean's shirt too....Whatever works...Dean has the touch....